LT1 Based Engine Tech 1993-1997 LT1/LT4 Engine Related

Granatelli MAF Sensor with Madz28 Tuning

Search this Thread

Old 10-08-2004, 04:48 PM

Granatelli MAF Sensor with Madz28 Tuning

My friend's dad installed a Granatelli MAF after he fixed the car and I've heard bad things about them. Can I just leave it on and have madz28.com tune it or will they run into problems with it? Or maybe they'll not be able to get as much power as they should out of the tune because of the Granatelli?

If so, does the Granatelli come apart just like the stock MAF? That way I could still use the MAF ends and just switch to the stock sensor. Please let me know what I should do.
FLeX
Old 10-08-2004, 05:57 PM

Re: Granatelli MAF Sensor with Madz28 Tuning

I've been running a Granatelli for over 8 years with no problems and I even picked up a tenth and 1 mph by using it...I didn't retune the car after the install...
--Alan
Old 10-08-2004, 06:06 PM

usually when changing maf how I FOUND OUT IT LEANS IT OUT A LITTLE my stock one went ot put new one on there had to get it tuned again 12.8 a/f I wouldnt tune it anymore unless on dyno......
Old 10-08-2004, 06:14 PM

I've had mine for 4 years now no problems and it works great with the S/C I've been running for the last 2 months.
Old 10-08-2004, 06:14 PM

The granatelli CAN temporarily cause a power gain when used with stock tuning, it tricks the pcm into thinking less air is comming in than what really is, stock tuning is overly rich so that can boost power, but with the help of the O2s the pcm will see what is happening and learn out the gains. The calibrations for the Granatelli are unknown so a tuner will have a harder time tuning for it than for a stocker. You can get more power and keep it by swapping back to the stocker and getting the pcm reprogrammed for the right AFR. The stock MAF is nowhere near a restriction till you are making very serious power.