LT1 Based Engine Tech 1993-1997 LT1/LT4 Engine Related

Can a beginner tackle a Hotcam kit install???

Search this Thread

Old 04-07-2004, 07:33 PM

Can a beginner tackle a Hotcam kit install???

I've never done a cam,RRs or springs. Do u guys think with the right instructions me and a friend can pull it off???
Old 04-07-2004, 07:34 PM

Probably not the best idea.
Old 04-07-2004, 07:58 PM

does your friend have exp. if so sure!
-b
Old 04-07-2004, 08:22 PM

Man its all about taking your time and doing your research. Make sure you got plenty of time to do it. You dont wanna rush it. Make sure you also have some cash set to the side in case other things can go wrong. Again just be patient with it, and pay attention to detail. You should be fine. Im no expert mechanic but i do my research and give myself plenty of time. Have fun.
Peace
Omar
Old 04-07-2004, 08:41 PM

Friend does not have exp. with LT1s. I think it would be easier to pay someone, because I can only work on the car during the weekend.
Old 04-07-2004, 09:02 PM

not sure how much it would cost you to pay someone but changing a cam is NOT easy for a beginner. ask me, i know first hand!

although, now that i have experience with it, i bet i could do it in half the time it's taking me!
and btw, i had my dad to help me who has a little bit of experience with cams (never an LT1 though).
honestly, if "the money ain't a thing," pay someone to do it. but if you have ALOT of time and patience and really want to learn about your car, do it yourself! i had the money and thougt i could do the whole job during my week of spring break...HAHA...it didn't happen, so now i'm in school and only get to work on the car twice a week for a few hours...it's been 3 weeks now!!!
it's getting close though!...and the y2k wheels will be here just in time!
Old 04-07-2004, 09:23 PM

Go for it.