LS1 Based Engine Tech LS1 / LS6 / LS2 / LS3 / LS7 Engine Tech

Your opinions on upgrades

Search this Thread

Old 10-26-2002, 12:21 AM

Your opinions on upgrades

Hello all, Im new to the whole LS1 world (just bought a 98 Z28 to replace my 87 Z28), and am about to start making some changes.

I swapped a Flowmaster onto it (I know, I know, most of you say Flowmasters dont flow, but we'll address that later) for a little meaner sound, and I am planning on the following:

Air lid - Whisper? G2? SLP? Who makes the best for the price?

Mass airflow sensor - The G2 is double the price of an SLP one, is there that much difference?

Throttle body - Is it work the 350 or so clams, or is that pushing it?

Electric exaust cutout - To get the Flow back from my Flowmaster. Any suggestions on them?

Chips-Ahoy! - JET makes an LS1 pop-in pcm, anyone know about them or others? Prices etc?

Cold air kit - Worth it or not? Best brand? Best buy?

As I said, Im very new to this whole buisness, so go easy on me here. If youve got a better set of suggestions, Id love to hear them!

Thanks alot everyone!
Old 10-26-2002, 11:14 AM

ok...airlid...they are pretty much all the same, dont let anyone tell you differently. personally, id stock with the stock maf until you absolutely need another. you really dont NEED a bigger tb, but if you want one, both shaner and BBK make an 80mm (im pretty sure its that size). quick time electric cutouts are going to be your best bet. the jet-chip is pretty much a worthless piece. and lastly, there are quite a few ram air kits available. slp cold air kit, fast toys ram air, super sucker raim air just to name a few. save your money on the jet-chip and the maf for sure (and if it were me, the tb too).
Old 10-26-2002, 12:15 PM

Don't forget to order a Strut tower brace,and Sub frame connectors!(weld on's,NOT bolt on's)
Old 10-26-2002, 01:55 PM

Re: Your opinions on upgrades

Air lid - Whisper? G2? SLP? Who makes the best for the price?