LS1 Based Engine Tech LS1 / LS6 / LS2 / LS3 / LS7 Engine Tech

Whats better? An Automatic SS or a 6-speed manual?

Search this Thread

Old 04-28-2003, 08:02 PM

Whats better? An Automatic SS or a 6-speed manual?

I'm thinking of buying a SS and selling my current older camaro which is an automatic, I am just starting to learn to drive a manual and have been believeing for some time that manual was better, but I want to know from you guys what you guys think is better?
Old 04-28-2003, 08:13 PM
Banned

get ready for this post cuz it will be on fire.....everyone who has autos will say autos are best and everyone here who has stik will say they are the best....but let me put the facts on the table

stik
higher et traps
loses less power to rear wheels
more fun on street
better to drive in snow

auto
more consistent at track
your wife/gf can drive it
no as fun on street
in snow your screwed
and everyone will laugh at you cuz ui cant drive a stik

well some facts are there the rest is just cause STIK is the best
Old 04-28-2003, 08:29 PM

man..there's a thread just a little down the way that goes over this in great detail.

http://web.camaross.com/forums/showt...hreadid=111556

There are several threads about this. The search feature up at the top works well.
Old 04-28-2003, 08:45 PM

I like to row the boat, any automatic I own, if ever again, will be a beater. I'd rather replace a clutch than the whole trans, and I'd rather not deal with torque converters either.

If you like to drag then consider the automatic, but what do YOU really want? You can always change your mind down the road, not that it would be fun to swap, sit back and figure out which you'd prefer.
Old 04-28-2003, 09:23 PM

Once again, this is the first of these this week, I am sure it will come up again. If you do a search, you will find hundreds of these posts, with the same outcome. Just do some reading, you will find all you need..
Old 04-29-2003, 01:52 AM