LS1 Based Engine Tech LS1 / LS6 / LS2 / LS3 / LS7 Engine Tech

Thoughts on the LS1.

Search this Thread

Old 07-11-2003, 01:38 PM

Thoughts on the LS1.

Last week I had just wrecked my 94 Z28 and now I'm thinking about 98 or higher so that I can have the famed LS1! I was just wondering about the pros and cons of the LS1, what has been been improved on the interior since the LT1 cars and so on. I know more power and there wont be a need for as many parts for 12's. By the way what's it take for 12's in an LS1? Thanks!
Old 07-11-2003, 01:49 PM

congratulations!

i'm no mechanic, but there's no opti.
and besides some cases of piston slap, most people say the ls1's are great. my used '98z has had no problems. my belts squeak on cold starts but that's it.
Old 07-11-2003, 02:05 PM

Piston slap is no big deal, most of the new chevys have that problem. Does anybody know what it takes to get these into the twelves?
Old 07-11-2003, 02:12 PM

A LS1 can run 12's bone stock. You just have to be a damn good driver.
Old 07-11-2003, 02:36 PM

sticky tires.
Old 07-11-2003, 04:27 PM

Wink

My car ran 13.4 with just a new lid, all else was stock (even 2.73 gears). With stickier tires, it should be darn close to 12's. A 6-speed car (with 3.42's) can hit 12's much easier (with a good driver).

IMO, I'd say spend the few extra bucks for an LS1. I think GM finally did something right with these engines..........they're good on gas, yet they make awesome horsepower, and you've seen the times that LS1 cars run. They're also easier to work on than LT1 cars (plug wires on an LT1 took me ~6 hours!).

Good luck car hunting!
Old 07-11-2003, 05:42 PM

Well I just sold my modded 93 and bought my 01 so I think I would have a good opinion on the matter