LS1 Based Engine Tech LS1 / LS6 / LS2 / LS3 / LS7 Engine Tech

new cats

Search this Thread

Old 06-20-2008, 06:43 AM

new cats

I recently purchased a 98 z28 94000 miles from a friend of mine who i think meant well, but did harm. He has a loudmouth exaust system mounted on, and the catylitic converters are gutted. If I wish to pass any inspection at all, seeing as how I live on a military installation, I need new cats. I am extremely new to anything car related, so I thought I'd make this a project car. Someone give me some insight as to "what key things to check, and what to do as far as a new Y-pipe and cats etc and kinds are best to handle engine upgrades etc. I know I sound new, so bear with me!
Old 06-20-2008, 06:51 AM

first you need to tell us what kind of inspection you have to pass.

visual to see if you have ANY cats?
visual to see if they are STOCK cats and locations?
sniff test at the tail pipes?
all of the above?
Old 06-20-2008, 07:00 AM

well the thing is, the cats are "gutted" guess that means there's nothing in them so there is more o2 flow? not sure completely but this i guess causes the o2 sensors to read wrong and made the Check Engine light come on and they investigated it. Knocked on the cats and they were empty. It's a North Carolina state inspection, a mandatory bulls****.
Old 06-20-2008, 08:52 AM

its not that they flow more 02

if you gut the cats and don't reprogram the computer or put in o2 simulators on the rear sensors then you will throw a code.
the code has nothing to do with the running condition of the engine.

the FRONT o2 sensors are the ones used to monitor air/fuel.

get some o2 simulators or a hand held programmer to delete the codes...and the light will go off. then try another inspector.
Old 06-20-2008, 09:03 AM

but in condition with the car, you think it'd be better to just buy new cats? like in the long run for condition of the engine etc?
Old 06-20-2008, 10:35 AM