LS1 Based Engine Tech LS1 / LS6 / LS2 / LS3 / LS7 Engine Tech

Header question

Search this Thread

Old 06-18-2003, 04:37 PM

Header question

I am new to the high performance world of lt1/ls1 so please bare with me. I have started my mods on a 99 formula with a dynomouth exhaust setup. I am also purchasing some bolt-ons such as SSRA, TSP lid, holley air filter & bellows. I am avoiding the MAF for the time being because I read in several posts it's a waste of money unless you plan to go beyond 450 rwhp. Correct me if I am wrong on that.

I see that headers/y-pipe/HF cats are on just about everyones car or x-mas list. I am a little hesitant in this area because I read that there is a federal law that says it is illegal to replace or relocate the factory cat on any street vehicle. Now again correct me if I am wrong but doesn't that make LT headers Illegal in all 50 states because it requires at the very least relocating the factory cat if not removing/replacing?

I am by no means a model citizen but I do need to use this car as a daily driver and I need to be able to pass emissions. I am in the Chicago, Illinois area and want to know how I can have headers and still pass emmisions testing?

Just wondering if there is some secret I need to be let in on or if I have my information wrong.
Old 06-18-2003, 04:39 PM

Most techs will only look for cats. 99% don't know where the stock location is or care.
Old 06-18-2003, 04:42 PM

Thanks. Then I should be ok as long as I keep a cat/s in the exhaust setup somewhere.

WoHoo I have just added headers to me early X-mas list!
Old 06-18-2003, 04:45 PM

You'll be fine as far as emissions goes if you use cats when you get headers. I've never heard of anyone having a problem that way.
Old 06-18-2003, 06:31 PM

Darren, yes, you are correct. It is a Federal violation to relocate or mess with the stock placement of any emissions control device.