Drag Racing Technique Improve your track times

No top end--Any advise?

Search this Thread

Old 03-07-2009, 06:51 PM

Unhappy No top end--Any advise?

I am very very new to the strip and have only owned this car since January. First trip to the strip today was anything but awe inspiring. I am not sure if it is something I am NOT doing or something that needs to be changed with the set-up of the car. Prior owner said he had went 93mph in the 1/8th last fall with the same car and exact same set up. Here is what I have '83 Z28 with 350SBC, 750 Holley, Dart heads, 10 bolt diff., 2400 stall, 350t tranny, 3.73 gears, full-spool and running on P295/50R15's with 12psi. My times today, god I hate posting this but if it helps, I will--60' 2.16, 330' 6.56, 1/8th 10.04, 1/4 15.9. It hooks good and seems to have power off the line but loses it all between 1/8th and 1/4 mi. with hardly no gain on mph between the two. Any suggestions or advise?
Old 03-07-2009, 07:51 PM

does it rev up at all like 6500rpm? check the timing, fuel pressure, does it have free flowing exhaust?

93 mph is mid 7s in the eighth, fast, very fast street car
Old 03-07-2009, 09:00 PM

It has stock exhaust with cat. I have a cut out but could not get it open today. Fuel pressure is fine but a garage adjusted timing and fuel and it seems the idle is too fast and the fuel is too rich....I have to admit that even though it is an automatic tranny I used manual shifts and shifted each one at 5000 rpms never let it run up any higher--think that may be the problem--need to let it wind up more before shifting?
Old 03-08-2009, 10:18 AM

the early shifting could very well be the reason for the slow times. your times are WAY off of what the prior owner are claiming. how well do you know that person, could be full of $hi% when he said he trapped 93 in 1/8th. as already posted that is very fast, mid to low 7s. next time leave it in drive and see what happens. good luck
Old 03-08-2009, 02:25 PM