Drag Racing Technique Improve your track times

Lots of rookie questions

Search this Thread

Old 08-04-2009, 01:26 AM

Lots of rookie questions

Well I am very new to all of this. I have just built my first car. Its not a drag only car though Im pretty sure I have had the mind set of doing so with that. My goals havent come real clear to me for what I want out of my car until recently.

i had a truck, paid ppl to make it faster and then i figured I should do this myself with a car. I got a V6 camaro and the engine blew and bame..I went ***** out sorta.

I have a zz502 in it right now. Everything is ready to rock with it but the rearend which ill do as soon as I am home(im overseas). I upgraded the intake to the Rpm air gap and added a 150 sniper nitrous system to it. Im not sure what route to go for drag racing. GM 12 bolt or Ford 9 inch? 3.08,3.55, or 3.73 gears. Reason I dont say anything much larger is because I want to be able to drive my car on the weekends in the summer a decent amount. But this is not a daily driver.

But would like to drive as far as 60 miles or so decently without worrying about much. That was the reason to picking this motor. My tranny stall is the nitrous B&M holeshot 2400. Thats housed in a slightly modded TH400. Also is a 28" tire too much? I just feel I should have a taller tire though I dont have the stall or the gear but in the near future I expect 790 lbs/tq on the engine

Im not sure how much of that twisting force will make it to the rear end but I know if its not at least 650 I wont hes to buy a turbo I have been checking out to push the numbers up 100. Also I have TTM 17x10.5 in the back