Drag Racing Technique Improve your track times

Anyone ever drag topless???

Search this Thread

Old 08-03-2009, 04:39 PM

Anyone ever drag topless???

I am considering trying something this weekend and would like to know if anyone has done this before and how it effected their times in a positive or negative way......I have an '83 Z with a glass T-top, roll bar, 5 point harness and helmet so is racing without the tops a bad idea????

I am asking because I recently broke my door handle on the inside and cannot get out of the thing without rolling the window down and doing it the "ghetto" way. If I drive with the tops off, I could get in and out with allot more ease.

The wind resistance would without a doubt hurt my time but I would make it up on the weight loss I would hope.

I am kinda new to this and am willing to listen to anyone who has done this in the past or has experience racing this type of car......please let me know what you think.
Old 08-03-2009, 05:50 PM

im anxious 2 see some responses b/c ive been wondering the same thing about runnin my z w/the tops off.
Old 08-03-2009, 06:27 PM

i cant see any negative problems since most full convertibles see ~5mph in their top speed.
Old 08-03-2009, 06:33 PM

I believe if you pull the t-tops or drop the top, the track will consider your car to be an open air coupe and require a ton of safety items. Full cage, full suit, gloves, etc.
Old 08-03-2009, 08:32 PM

I would have thought so as well and have always run with the T-top on but when I was there a couple weeks ago they had two vettes line up both convertibles with the tops down and I asked then if they were going to allow cars to run that way...... they said yes. I have a roll bar and as of yet am still only a 14.1 car so I think they will let me go with it.
Old 08-03-2009, 09:41 PM

I finally got to at the PINKS ALL OUT race..haha it ran like crap, didn't lift the front tires, but it was awesome.

Old 08-03-2009, 09:45 PM

Cool