Car Audio and Electronics Custom car audio/electronics questions and discussion

New SQ setup - Need HU advice

Search this Thread

Old 06-29-2004, 10:53 PM

New SQ setup - Need HU advice

I started selling car audio for a living, and I couldn't be happier. Here's the dilemna though.

My old system:

Alpine 9813
Alpine SPR-175's
Alpine SWR-1041D (x2)
MTX 4202
MTX 6500D

I sold everything but the amps, and I may sell those too. I was satisfied with the system, but the problem I had was that the sound stage lacked real focus. My biggest problem was with the mid-bass response and the midrange to low bass transition tended to audibly move from the front to the rear.

So, to eliminate this, I want to start from the ground up. My main system goals are to be:

-Extremely strong and focused sound stage
-Completely accurate full-range music reproduction at concert-level volume
-Budget of 4500$

I think my budget will break down like this:

Deck: 900$
Speakers: 500$
Subs: 1000$
Amplification: 1500$
Installation (Including Cabling): 600$

I think it's a fair break down. I have access to Clarion, Alpine, Eclipse, Kenwood, JL and Sony. Here's what I'm thinking so far.

Deck: Either Clarion 9255 or Eclipse 8454. The 8454 is a little cheaper, but it seems the Clarion would sound better. I'm not too crazy about going Alpine again after I heard about their lackluster pre-out performance.

Speakers: Either Alpine SPX177A's or JL XR650CSI's. I've heard both and like both, but I'm not sure which would sound better in car. On top of that, to make things sorta "match", I'd like the same brand in front as in the back.