3rd Gen / L98 Engine Tech 1982 - 1992 Engine Related

F-Body, yes or no.

Search this Thread

Old 08-14-2002, 12:02 AM

Post F-Body, yes or no.

I am looking at several 305 82-92 Camaros, and was wondering if it is stock, can I get any rumble out of it, and what would be the best upgrades for my buck. Thank you VERY much, I am kinda new to this and havent reved one, to see what kinda power they have
Thanx
Old 08-14-2002, 01:52 AM

*Zips up flame suit*

If you want power, you should try to get a 350 powered car. They have a little larger aftermarket for them and you get a few more horsies for the same amount of money when spent on a motor with 45 extra cubes.

Rumble? yes, get any aftermarket Cat-back system. If you were to buy headers also and replace the whole exhaust system, it would have a VERY nice rumble to it. My car supposedly has a sound all its own.... just sounds different than everyone elses Camaro.

Power? Not from the factory, sorry. The 80's cars were pretty weak. The 90-92 cars were pretty badass. I should include the 89 cars in there too. That was really the first year they were making decent numbers. 225+hp.

------------------
-Brad C?
355ci '89 Iroc-Z Red, T-tops, power everything, A4,New 10 bolt w/ 3.73's
Trans-Go shift kit Corvette Servo,Accel 8.8mm wires,Flowmaster 80 series ,K&N's, !MAF Screens, Hollowed out airboxes,homemade Subframes. Kieth Black pistons 10.3:1, Comp Cams 270H (.495/.502 218*/224* 110*LSA) & valve springs, SLP 1 3/4" headers, TCI 2400 stall, Dual Roller timing chain, 2 3/4" I-pipe.
Full street trim best run:14.799/mph:93/60': 2.02 (last year) New Times to come.
New times: 13.732 @ 99.30 on a 1.878 60'
Pics of the Iroc
Old 08-14-2002, 02:14 AM

Finding one with a GOOD 350 is the best idea. Fuel injection is best for mileage and that's all you can get 350s in anyway. Carbs are much simpler though. No 350 came with a stick though.