3rd Gen / L98 Engine Tech 1982 - 1992 Engine Related

breaking in a flowmaster

Search this Thread

Old 04-12-2004, 06:14 AM

breaking in a flowmaster

i got my 10 series flowmaster put on friday and i was very dissapointed with it when i first got in on. my car ran terriable and was quieter that it was with the dynomax cat back that was on it before... so last night i was driving back to school which is a 3 hr drive and i stopped about halfway there like i always do to go to the bathroom and streach and then when i started it again to leave it instantly roared to life and sounded awesome... then i started off down the road and it had a noticable power difference. now i love it the true flowmaster sound, im very impressed. now heres my question has anyone else had this issue with their flowmasters? ive heard people talking about "breaking in" their flowmasters but what does that entail? since its chambered and there is no packing how do you break it in? ok thats all from me how bout you?
Old 04-12-2004, 06:35 AM

how the hell do you break in a muffler??

sounds like it may have been something else with your car that was causing problems.
Old 04-12-2004, 06:53 AM

yeah that was my thought... i know with the old glasspacks to "break in" those it just meant to burn the packing out but on a chambered muffleri dont understand it... i dont think thee was anything wrong with my car, it ran fine before that, it acted strange after i put the muffler on but i got to thinking and it might be because i took the computer out and disconnected the battery, so maybe it just had to relearn? but for 2 days? i dont understand but whatever it dosent matter now because it runs awesome and sounds even better! plus it helped my gas milage! bonus!

*eric*
Old 04-12-2004, 10:36 AM

I've heard stories about Flowmasters sounding better after 3 month break in period .
Old 04-12-2004, 01:33 PM