General 1967-2002 F-Body Tech For general F-Body discussion that does not fit in any other forum.
For F-Body Technical/Information Discussion ONLY

Oil Consumption, how to really figure it out?

Search this Thread

Old 05-03-2007, 01:31 AM

Oil Consumption, how to really figure it out?

Most people talk of quarts in a mileage sense. Well, I am thinking that we need to really see how are cars use oil.
There are many variables, such as engine size, rpms due to gear choices, steady state vs city driving etc etc.
What can we honestly due to figure out our oil consumption. I mean, if I tracked a car for an hour and used a quart after 250 miles, yet on the highway and I am cruising in OD till I hit 250 miles and I use no oil, what has changed?
I am thinking one thing tells us how we are doing with oil consumption, and that is compare it to fuel consumption.
I am no engineer, no mathematician, but if you get 10 mpg and use 1 quart of oil, then you get 20 mpg and use 1/2 quart, you will eventually see a trend.
ANyways, just my thought. Whats yours?
Old 05-03-2007, 12:43 PM

Ttt
Old 05-03-2007, 02:25 PM

If your burning a quart of oil every 250 miles then you have issues. My car burns about .2-.4 quarts in 3000 miles. Something along those lines. I dont know how you measure how much oil your car burns. WHat I did is save the 6 bottle, do the oil change then the used oil put it back into the bottles and see how much is missing from the last bottle. Unless you have a accurate scale then I dont know how else you can do it.
Old 05-03-2007, 03:26 PM

Originally Posted by ConElite