2010 - 2015 Camaro Technical Discussion All 5th Generation Camaro technical discussion that doesn't fit in other forums

Cold Air Intake?

Search this Thread

Old 05-28-2010, 10:06 AM

Cold Air Intake?

Hello:

I am scouring the forums to get a consensus.
I am a newbie when it comes to Camaros. My last car was a Ford Focus and I upgraded this year to a '10 SS and now I want more power.

My friends tell me a cold air intake is the way to go (cheap price, good power). I did some research and came across this company (www.fastlaneturbo.com) and their Pipeline Cold Air Intake.

It seems decent but I want to get a second opinion. Does anybody know about this company and their cold air intake? I am scouring the forums to get a consensus.

Here is a blurb from their website. Thanks!

This is a massive 4” true cold air intake that draws air from the lower grill opening of your 2010 Camaro. The “Pipeline Air Intake” provides two key benefits for your Camaro. The first being that the system scavenges cool air from below the vehicle rather than hot “under hood” air, that provides lower air inlet temperatures and cooler air that carries more oxygen into the engine. This translates into a more intense combustion process creating more horsepower and torque. Secondly, the system benefits from a “ram air effect”- when driving down the road providing more air into the engine helping it “breathe” better. The system features 4” aluminum construction, CNC machined MASS Air Flow Meter flange, the intake integrates with the factory PCV system, and an Oil-Free lifetime dry air filter. The System requires simple one bolt relocation of windshield washer reservoir. All parts are included with “The Pipeline Air Intake”. This intake is now two mandrel bent pieces.

This kit will also work with Magnusson Superchargers as well.

Power Increase = 15 RWHP

Labor Time = 1.5 Hrs

*For best performance and optimal RWHP, an ECM Flash is required. Click here to add Custom Dyno Tune 2010 Camaro SS