LT1 Based Engine Tech 1993-1997 LT1/LT4 Engine Related

Unknown engine stutter

Search this Thread

Old 09-22-2017, 02:15 PM

Unknown engine stutter

I have had my 94 z28 for a little over a year now I am still a high school student and bought the car as something fun to work on the car isn't daily driven as I bought another car so that i didn't put access stress on it since it is older. it only has 112k on it and i recently had the injectors cleaned to correct the small stutter the car developed when you got on the gas to accelerate from a stop or avoid the skip shift at 45 about a day after that the stutter got worse the car began to start missing a lot more even at idle and suffers from extremely poor performance. I went through and redid all the plug wires only finding one that had the sheath melted on the exhaust manifold. The Car had after marked exhaust with no mufflers and a single cat, the drivers side pipe has a weak flow of exhaust through it while the other side is fairly strong. I was told that the Car could have a clogged Cat, due to the junk the injector cleaner burned out of the engine. I only use 90 or above octane in the car and use full synthetic 5w-30 oil i have previously considered switching to thicker oil all year round But have heard that it makes the engine run hotter. The worst thing I have heard that it could be is a lifter but the guy that told me that didn't spend any time with the car. It starts first try as fast as i would expect a 25 yr old car to start.

Any suggestions would be very helpful I love this car and hate to see it sit
Old 09-22-2017, 02:45 PM

Re: Unknown engine stutter

Tyler

Hard to diagnose over the internet without more definitive source of problem.

There are software programs you can download along with buying a cable to plug in a laptop to see the data

EHACK or scan9495 are two I have heard of but never used since I have a 96 OBD2 car