Appearance Hoods, spoilers, custom mods, accessories, etc.

Convertible Top Replacement Step by Step (lots o pics)

Search this Thread

Old 09-29-2008, 11:28 PM

Convertible Top Replacement Step by Step (lots o pics)

Let me start this with a disclaimer. I am by no means a professional, I am far from it. However after the cheapest quote for having the top installed was about 1000 dollars I decided that it couldn't possibly be that hard...besides I don't like anyone touching the car other then myself. This being said, I am not responsible should you decide to use information in this post and something goes wrong, comes out wrong etc. I also welcome anyone with their own experience to add to this thread. There is a severe lack of info out there on how to change tops on these cars, maybe if I get the ball rolling some of the professionals who must be lurking on this board will come out to correct all my amateur errors.

Last edited by deliryumtrigger; 10-12-2008 at 07:24 PM. Reason: Editing for clarity
Old 09-29-2008, 11:40 PM

Things You Will Need

- New Top
- Staple Gun- I used an electric stapler and it worked pretty good except for where the top overlaps the rear window section and you have 4 layers of material plus seams. In fact I will be going back sometime soon and re-stapling these areas as they are the only spots that don't look like they should. What does this mean? It means get yourself a pneumatic stapler unless you really like a challenge.
- Staples- I would suggest stainless steel or some other staple that will not rust.
- Various Knives- At a minimum I would say you need a utility knife and a medium-fine xacto knife.
- Spray adhesive- A few areas require glue. Loctite heavy duty gets my vote. You could glue a person to the ceiling with that stuff.
- Blankets or something to cover the back sides of the body around the top.