LT1 Based Engine Tech 1993-1997 LT1/LT4 Engine Related

Im having trouble chasing down a miss...

Search this Thread

Old 04-14-2011, 11:44 AM

Im having trouble chasing down a miss...

I bought my 96 WS6 about 4 years ago. It needed some work but after changing the plugs and wires, it ran great until about 6 months ago. The car is modded with LT/dynomouth exhaust and a Pro 5.0. Its got Taylor wires with heat sleeves but otherwise everything is stock. The car is throwing codes for the rear 02's(headers), EGR(headers), MIL malfunction(burnt bulb), and a MAF code. I scanned the car and the MAF reads 5-7 at idle which seems a bit low but Im no expert. Im switching the MAF out with another tomorrow to see if that helps. The car starts up and runs great until it reaches operating temp where it starts to miss/stumble. The O2's seem to be cycling ok and the miss seems to come and go during a wot blast which also leads me to believe that the O2's are fine since at wot, the car goes to open loop but again, Im no expert. Another thing that is puzzling is that at idle, the car will run fine until it hits operating temp and then starts to "tick" out of the exhaust and begins to pop and backfire(loading up on fuel). I thought this would be due to a burnt valve but a compression test showed no such thing. Will a burnt valve always show up on a compression test? Any ideas before I start ripping it apart? Haha. Thanks
Old 04-14-2011, 12:10 PM

Re: Im having trouble chasing down a miss...

I would try replacing the temp sensor in the water pump..I only say this because your saying that once it reaches operating temp you have the problem..The PCM is linked to that sensor,it could be pulling timing causing the stumble.

Last edited by my1994z28; 04-14-2011 at 12:14 PM.
Old 04-14-2011, 02:25 PM

When it reaches operating temp it goes into closed loop and if your Maf or o2's are bad it will run like crap...