General 1967-2002 F-Body Tech For general F-Body discussion that does not fit in any other forum.
For F-Body Technical/Information Discussion ONLY

How fast is fast?

Search this Thread

Old 05-19-2014, 06:08 PM

How fast is fast?

I have a 93 speed density LT1. It has 160,000 miles on the clock, 3.23:1 gears, untouched trans and converter, and a stock motor except long tube headers, cold air intake and a PCM chip. We just ran at MIR this past Sunday. It went 12.968 @106, 13.05 @ 103 and 12.968 @ 106. I'm new to the LT1 format, but learning as we go. Are these times what we should expect? Faster than normal? Slower than normal? Any thoughts as to what the limit will be for ET without doing any more to the motor i.e. gears, converter, stripping weight etc.?
Old 05-20-2014, 07:57 AM

Re: How fast is fast?

I'd say that's around normal. My first z was a 93 all bolt-ons and my best time was 11.9, that was an,m6, but I'm sure there are better all bolt-on times then that.

Sent from my SGH-T989 using Tapatalk
Old 05-20-2014, 11:47 AM

So, maybe there is still a little more speed in it somewhere? I can tell you that open headers on that car will damage the fuel line on the drivers side. I didn't pay attention to the routing very close when the headers went on. It will melt the lines and high pressure push fittings for sure! I am very lucky it didn't rupture, but the heat on the line had to have a huge affect on the fuel being delivered to the injectors. I guess this week will include some fuel line mods...
Old 05-20-2014, 12:15 PM
Administrator

Open headers can also expose the O2 sensors to an air backwash, and screw up the A/F mixture.
Old 05-20-2014, 12:31 PM

When I contacted PCM they suggested that I unplug my O2s' and run in open loop. They told me the exact thing you posted. It must have helped, the best time prior to the tune and unplugging the sensors was a 13.50
Old 05-20-2014, 12:40 PM