General 1967-2002 F-Body Tech For general F-Body discussion that does not fit in any other forum.
For F-Body Technical/Information Discussion ONLY

Crank No Start

Search this Thread

Old 01-19-2018, 08:19 PM

Crank No Start

So I have a 1997 Camaro SS, the car cranks but does not start. Will try to give as much info as possible. The car has a new battery, new spark plugs and wires, new alternator, new fuel pump, new relay and new fuel filter. When I crank the car I do not hear the fuel pump, the check gages lights are on but the car has a full tank of gas. Starting fluid does not help start the car. I've checked the fuses they are fine. Don't think it's a starter issue but I'm no expert. Any bit of help would be great.

Last edited by Dannysthename; 01-19-2018 at 08:23 PM.
Old 01-20-2018, 12:07 AM
Administrator

Re: Crank No Start

At any point, have you:

- scanned the PCM for codes

- checked the fuel pressure

- checked for spark at the coil, and at the plugs

What does the "SECURITY" light do when the starter is cranking the engine?

How many miles on the engine?

Has the Optispark distributor ever been changed? If so, what brand?

The "Check Gages" light (there is only one) covers the coolant temp, system volts, fuel level and oil pressure. What does your fuel gauge read? A problem with the fuel gauge and not hearing the fuel pump could be related to the connector for the pump sending unit near the rear axle. Are there any other dash warning light that stay on?

Courtesy of Shoebox

http://shbox.com/1/fuel_pump_wiring.jpg
Old 01-20-2018, 05:49 AM

So I'm not able to get a pcm reading, I'm figuring I can't because I can't get the engine to turn over. The security light turns off when cranking, the car has 117888. The fuel Gage is also reading full. I bought the car 5 months ago so I've yet to change or look at the distributor, and will see if I can check the fuel pressure and the coils. Thanks a lot
Old 01-20-2018, 09:08 AM
Administrator