General 1967-2002 F-Body Tech For general F-Body discussion that does not fit in any other forum.
For F-Body Technical/Information Discussion ONLY

New Toy, looking for advice on upgrades

Search this Thread

Old 06-11-2017, 03:35 PM

New Toy, looking for advice on upgrades

Hi everyone! I just purchased a 1995 Z28 A4 LT1 Convertible. Im wanting to achieve somewhere in the 400-450hp range but not sure what is my best options to achieve my goal. Im not very car/mechanic savy, im a contractor by trade but am willing to put in wrench time and learn as i go to help save some costs. I know you'll need some info on the car to help so here goes.
Car has 136k miles on it*
Engine was rebuilt @ 133k (i have paperwork to support)*
I was told the previous owner had a cam installed during build but i can't find that on the build sheet.*
Also told there was a bigger converter installed as well. There again, no idea how to be sure.*
New Opti*
Flowmaster muffler but stock pipes*
Aftermarket cone air filter but on stock intake piping*

Any advice/help on where to go to gain the hp would be appreciated! TIA
Old 06-11-2017, 06:06 PM
Administrator

Re: New Toy, looking for advice on upgrades

Welcome to CamaroZ28.com ! ! !

Are you looking for 400-450 HP at the flywheel, or at the rear wheels? That's typically about a 17-18% difference through the 4L60E auto trans. The factory 275 HP rating is at the flywheel. Stock engine with auto trans will generally net 230-240 HP at the rear wheels.

Achievable either way with ported factory heads, and a matching cam, specific to your application. Typically need a cold air intake, 52mm throttle body, larger injectors, headers, full 3" catback, PCM tune, depending on whether it's flywheel HP or rear wheel HP.

Will require drivetrain and suspension mods to utilize that amount of power effectively, again depending on how you plan to use it - straight-line drag racing, auto-x/road racing, or just a fun "driver".
Old 06-11-2017, 06:13 PM