CamaroZ28.Com Message Board

CamaroZ28.Com Message Board (https://www.camaroz28.com/forums/)
-   Fuel and Ignition (https://www.camaroz28.com/forums/fuel-ignition-74/)
-   -   Camaro 2002 Wont Start (https://www.camaroz28.com/forums/fuel-ignition-74/camaro-2002-wont-start-800208/)

SD_Fred619 03-01-2011 11:53 PM

Camaro 2002 Wont Start

I'm a Newbie, just got a Burgundy 2002 Camaro 3.8 V6 5 speed from my son who is in the Navy to care for. Noticed occasional slip when going from 2 to 3rd gear, then the engine just kinda choked and now won't start. I'm suspecting plugs-wire -or ignition coils? Appreciate any help.. Thanks

Injuneer 03-02-2011 07:09 PM

Re: Camaro 2002 Wont Start

Scan if for codes. The PCM has a wide range of diagnostics for both the engine and the transmission.

SD_Fred619 03-02-2011 10:48 PM

Yeah good idea thanks, btw nice looking office!

manfire1987 03-04-2011 12:41 AM

I agree with fred.. my guess maybe fuel pump or something... even with bad plug or plug wire should still start just miss fire all over.. check for codes... If you do so PM me the codes and I can look it up on the chevy web site for trouble shooting, what it is etc etc... my buddy gave me his tech log in information.. good luck .... oh and by the way yea I wish my office was as nice as Fred's

SD_Fred619 03-05-2011 11:56 AM

Buddy came over with scanner, Got the following codes P0300 -- P0131---
P0151 P0128. Then while trying to crank engine buddy, put screw driver between plug and ignition coil module something like that to determine no spark no spark, suggesting possibly ignition module control igniter ?? Thoughts ??
What are those o2 sensor codes about ? Crash course here, but man when that little Burgundy Chevy is purring Man o Man lol:)

JustCruzin 03-05-2011 12:18 PM

Allways start with the basics. Fuel, Air & Spark

Injuneer 03-05-2011 02:54 PM

P0131 - O2 Circuit-Low Voltage (Bank 1, Sensor 1)