Go Back  CamaroZ28.Com Message Board > Community > F-body Lounge
Very odd computer issue. See if you think this is a MB issue. >

Very odd computer issue. See if you think this is a MB issue.

F-body Lounge All off-topic posts. Music, Sports, Movies, Humor, etc.
Please, no content above a PG-13 rating or political/religious content.

Old 12-17-2007, 09:35 PM

Guys, I need some ideas. I usually build computers, but not this time. I have 8 years experience and a 2yr and 4yr degree usually pretty decent with hardware.

Anway got an HP ULTIMATE. I have been using a WD raptor 2 years or so in my dell 4700 zero issues. Put it in the HP and it says iminment disk failure. And it will not install xp or a ghost image on this drive in the new computer. It will blue screen if you try to boot to xp (Via my old image) or blue screen if you try to install xp.

Put the drive back in the old PC and it works great. I run WD tools (both of the downloads) smart capablity and everything is 100% ok. I run the spinrite takes over 5 hours and it comes out flying colors.

I format the whole drive put it in the HP and you can format it via disk mgt but it locks up and reboot and the format changes are GONE. and the drive is back to no partitions and RAW ( i have one usb drive hooked up during this time)

So if your like me your thinking just a bad HD. Just something is going south.

Well I hook up my USB drive to play some tunes. Works fine. Disk Mgt detects it fine. I reboot and vista says RAW. Oh crap, I use my other usb drive and it shows raw. I know these drives are good and fairly new. I get my XP laptop and hook them up and both confirm good and all files and the filesystem is in tack.

So does both the SATA and USB use the same mass stoarge controler?