Drag Racing Technique Improve your track times

Another ''cant hook with m6'' thread

Old 05-28-2012, 10:26 PM

Question Another ''cant hook with m6'' thread

Still a drag racing NOOB here. Tried it off and on for years but usually destroy parts and only get to run a few times a year, so not much experience.

Car is 95 Z28, 383lt1 A/I trickflow heads, hyd. roller cam, ported stock intake, etc probably ~440-480hp range (never had it dynoed) Engine also has a lightweight aluminum flywheel that was stuck on there before I started getting into drag racing so much. Clutch is a clutchnet 2x racing 5puck design that is a bear to drive.
Car has no emisions, AC, heater but still has full interior with working stock radio. No cage or race seats. No idea what it weighs. Battery also relocated to trunk.

Tube LCA's(non adjustable), Tunnel mounted torque arm, tube panhard bar (non adjustable), SFCs, Moser 9inch 4:11gears w/ detroit locker diff. & LCA relocation brackets.
Stock new Monroe Sensatrac struts/springs in back.
Tires are Mickey Thompson drag radials 325/50?/15's(i know, waaay too big) on Race Star wheels. Tire pressures tried from 24psi down to 15psi. Short burnouts without much smoke to huge-people cheering burnouts have been tried.

Front is stock except 1le swaybar(coming off ASAP), KYB adjustable struts (set to stiffest setting, only one adjustment) ls1 brakes, skinnies but cant remember the tire size right now.

Best time is 12.0x with a 1.75 60foot at 114mph with engine builder driving and not powershifting.

My best is 12.1x with a 1.8x 60foot at 115mph. I have also ran a 12.3x at 118mph spinning badly at start. Dont remember 60foot on that run. Powershifting every run.