CamaroZ28.Com Message Board

CamaroZ28.Com Message Board (https://www.camaroz28.com/forums/)
-   Appearance (https://www.camaroz28.com/forums/appearance-34/)
-   -   help me pick 3 out of the 7 gauges (https://www.camaroz28.com/forums/appearance-34/help-me-pick-3-out-7-gauges-575938/)

bighash007 01-29-2008 01:17 AM

help me pick 3 out of the 7 gauges
 
help me choose 3 out of the 7 gauges

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/ws/eB...AQ:MOTORS:1123

Injuneer 01-29-2008 08:17 AM

You've already got oil pressure, water temp and voltage on your dash panel - no need to duplicate them. If you don't have a supercharger or a turbo, you don't need a boost gauge. That leaves you with only 3 real choices:

-A/F ratio (will do little more than provide a psychedelic light show as the A/F ratio cycles back and forth rapidly in closed loop - no useful info)

-Vacuum

-Oil Temp

None of those seems particularly useful.

RS96Silver 01-29-2008 08:20 AM

the stock oil pressure gauge i will never rely on....get a mechanical one....a/f is a light show really like fred said and u could get a boost/vacuum gauge if u wanna watch a needle bounce back and forth

bighash007 01-29-2008 06:15 PM

aight thanks guys

2000GTP 01-29-2008 06:39 PM

I just wouldn't throw gauges on there to have them. Its not on the list, but a gauge that might be of some benefit to you would be a tranny temp gauge.

bighash007 01-29-2008 06:44 PM

interisting, any other suggestions that might be useful off top of your head?

Evolution223 01-31-2008 10:36 AM

I've got the same package with trans temp, A/F & the Vaccum.

I did the install no my 3.8 , here's how
1. vaccum, just drill a hole into your intake and tap with 1/8 npt tap, get the connector from autozone to connect to the gauge hose.
2.a/f - this was a pain because there are 5 blue wires running to the ecu, I had to cut & splice every single wire before I found the right one.
3. trans-temp, make sure you get the correct adapter for the sensor, it is a 1/8" npt thread. You might have a hard time finding it as only speacilty shop can order it. Then it must be welded to the pan. Or it is posible that the drill & screw on drain plugs from autozone have the 1/8 not thread but I haven't checked.

I bought a 2nd oil pan just so I could have it welded while still driving the car. I actually screwed up the first pan because I had the wrong size adapter and it leaked so I had to do it again.

Be very careful when choosing the spot for the temp sensor, it is very tight under that auto trans oil pan, I have mine on the front right corner.

Injuneer 01-31-2008 11:22 AM


Originally Posted by Evolution223 (Post 5151044)
I've got the same package with trans temp, A/F & the Vaccum.

I did the install no my 3.8 , here's how
1. vaccum, just drill a hole into your intake and tap with 1/8 npt tap, get the connector from autozone to connect to the gauge hose.....

Is there no existing full-vacuum port on a V6 intake that you could "tee" into with a plastic fitting? Doesn't it have the vacuum connection for the HVAC system, for example, that you could have used?

Evolution223 01-31-2008 02:25 PM


Originally Posted by Injuneer (Post 5151151)
Is there no existing full-vacuum port on a V6 intake that you could "tee" into with a plastic fitting? Doesn't it have the vacuum connection for the HVAC system, for example, that you could have used?

yes there is,, but it's on the back of the engine way under the windsheild, near impossible to get to, plus I couldn't figure out how to get i t apart. it's eaiser just to drill & tap up front into the intake manifold, plus you don't have to worry about screwing up any of the factory workings.

ofcourse i used a shop vac to try to avoid getting chips in the intake manifold.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:45 AM.


© 2019 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands