3rd Gen / L98 Engine Tech 1982 - 1992 Engine Related

89 camaro tbi wont turns but wont start

Old 07-09-2010, 05:56 PM

89 camaro tbi wont turns but wont start

Hi everyone any info is good info if you know how to apply it. I have an 89 camaro 305 tbi auto. It has been a 6 year project when I have spear time. The last time it started 2 years ago I started it and drove fine then damn what was that. found out I had 3 bent push rods. Replaced new roller rockers and pushrods. Held off working on car skerd of messing up 0'valve lash. Several times attempting by manual never was right. Finally found a post this gentleman had and worked first time. Went to start car had spark no fuel, then spark and fuel on and off. A few days later trying to fix it my car had no spark and no fuel. Checked everything ( I am not a certified mechanic but know enough to not need one for every thing, motor rebuilds susp. ect. do it my self kinda person for the most part. I had correct fuel pressue, pump primed key on, also fuel to TBI not out injectors. Had no spark at coil. Fuses all good coil good, crank sense ect all good. So no spark to coil with all else good I went str8 to the pick up coil since I had no spark to the coil and no fuel out of injector. Pick up coil failed conitinuity grounded to dizzy(distributor) so when I took dizzy apart got the ICM checked out and was good. failed first time and passed the next 3 times. Put new pick up coil in and spark went all the way to the plugs an injectors sprayed first shot. NOW car turns Fills injector bowls with gas will not start. If I hold pedal down for flood mode it intermittenly sprays tbi will cough and bang fire in tbi bowl. everytime. I cranked it so long spinning dizzy knowing its bad for starter I over heated it cauzing engine to slow cranking till it stopped. Whole time I had car battery hooked up to my good car with jumper cables. Let starter cool an is fine. Pulled the plugs out to air out my cylinders. only 3 out of 8 where wet.