New Member Introduction Along with the new Camaro, there will be plenty of new members. Introduce yourself!

My First Camaro and it's about time

Search this Thread

Old 04-18-2015, 08:14 AM

Cool My First Camaro and it's about time

I just recently became the owner of a 97 Camaro z28 30 YR Anniversary with the 1LE package. I am not 100% familiar with the 1LE package other then it was a modified suspension package and oil cooler. Any way, It has the 6MT, painted black with the gray cloth interior. Guy took pretty good care of the car and kept every receipt of everything done to it sense 2010 when he bought it.

I am new to the muscle car arena but not a noob at fixing cars, though not an expert either. I am going to spend a couple years and slowly build this car out to a 500 hp blacked out with red suspension components and red accented interior. Along with power I want to make this a show room quality car.

My biggest questions are what brands should I trust or more so NOT trust when it comes to performance parts?

Also, anyone in the Phoenix AZ area? Wouldn't mind getting some feedback on good shops and people to talk to about plans.

I am taking the car to, what seems like, a respectable shop to have it checked over. I took a risk and didn't do this when I bought the car so I am doing it now. I know it is going to need new struts as mine are squeaking.

I will stop blabbing now and head over to the suspension area for research and questions...
Old 04-18-2015, 09:02 AM
Administrator

Re: My First Camaro and it's about time

Welcome to CamaroZ28.com!!!

Sounds like a great find. Here's a link to the 4th Gen FAQ, which will have info on the 1LE package:

4th Generation (1993 - Present)

Q: What's included in the 1LE performance package?

A: The package required these options (Z28/Formula, respectively):

Basic option group (FZAB/1SA)
A/C delete (until 1996 when A/C became standard)
6-speed transmission or performance rear axle with the automatic (GU5/G92)