Middle Atlantic New Jersey, New York, and Pennsylvania

Danville / Bloomsburg / Surrounding Area People Get in Here

Search this Thread

Old 07-23-2009, 10:21 AM

Danville / Bloomsburg / Surrounding Area People Get in Here

John, Harold,....

I've finally convinced my wife to look at Geisinger as a possible employer. That in and of itself is a giant hurdle that has been overcome. Now, the question is, what are other surrounding areas for professional employment? I am going to need a job. I have a Bachelors and Masters Degree in Mechanical Engineering w/ 12 years of industry experience. Ten of that is in the pump field. I'm willing to travel up to 35 minutes assuming we live in Danville.

The next thing is my wife is much more of a civilization type of person. Malls, shopping centers, movie theaters, amusement parks, recreational areas are her thing. I'm perfectly content playing w/ a tractor and shooting guns in the back yard. What "civilized" things are in the area? Malls, parks, entertainment...

Housing prices and location are the next thing. I'm not sure we need 4,000 sq. feet, but 3,000 w/ a finished basement, attached garage and detached garage, barn or workshop would be great. What is a good location? Where should we avoid?

This is all very much in the infancy stage, but if it actually starts to become a reality I'd like to have info to feed her. Personally, I'd move tomorrow provided I had a job. The area is very suited to how I want to live and where I'd like to raise my kids.

Any info / help is appreciated.

Thanks,

Steve.
Old 07-26-2009, 12:55 PM