LT1 Based Engine Tech 1993-1997 LT1/LT4 Engine Related

Recomended beginning engine mods for a 1993 Z28 LT1 Camaro

Search this Thread

Old 11-18-2013, 11:36 PM

Recomended beginning engine mods for a 1993 Z28 LT1 Camaro

Hi im pretty new to the 1993 camaro i just bought a 1993 z28 with a comp cam in it and an msd distributor, and what i believe to be a zex dry shot nitrous kit otherwise everything else is bone stock. I was wondering what i can do to up my horsepower and torque without needing to upgrade internals. The zex dry shot nitrous kit hooked up but the guy i bought it from said that after the cam was put in the car it fell flat on its face in the quarter mile when he used it. So if any one has sugestions on what upgrades to start with that would be much appreciated. Or if you know how i can fix the issue it has while using nitrous.
Old 11-19-2013, 07:09 AM
Administrator

Re: Recomended beginning engine mods for a 1993 Z28 LT1 Camaro

How does the ZEX kit supply the added fuel when you spray? Does it increase fuel pressure like the NOS 5176 dry kit? I know it adjusts the nitrous flow rate based on bottle pressure, but that's just tweeking the A/F ratio. Confirm it is part #82018.

How much are you spraying? What cam are you using? LSA is important with nitrous. Who tuned the base case (normally aspirated) ECM chip for the cam? Do you have a fuel pressure safety switch? The added HP of the cam + the added HP from the spray may be exceeding the capacity of the fuel pump.
Old 11-19-2013, 09:58 AM

Need more info about the car. Do you have headers? Auto or 6 speed? Stall? Rear Gear?
Old 11-19-2013, 11:26 AM

6SpdLT1Z the car has stock exhaust manifolds on it, it has the t56 transmission and it has 4:10 gears