LT1 Based Engine Tech 1993-1997 LT1/LT4 Engine Related

Piston Recommendation for LT1

Old 10-20-2009, 02:31 PM

Question Piston Recommendation for LT1

Hey guys,
I am a college student attempting to rebuild the LT1 in my 1994 Pontiac Trans AM. I have stripped it all down and have it at the machine shop. I am told the engine needs bored 0.030" over. Now since I need new pistons because of the overbore, I want to go ahead and get "good" ones. However, since I am a college student, my funds are limited. So what are good pistons for the LT1? do regular 350 flattop pistons work with the LT1? (I've heard they are heavier and can ruin the crank).

Second thing, I plan on putting roller rocker 1.6 Ration rockers, headers, and a bigger cam. Any recommendations on Cams and headers? (I want to maintain street ability/gas mileage). any other good performance upgrades while I have the engine out?

Thank you in advance!
Old 10-20-2009, 02:45 PM

Pretty much all bottom end parts from a 1 piece rear main sbc will work in the lt1.

What are your goals for the car? To get it back to running stock? There are several realatively cheap cast options out there. Summit has several - Keith Black is popular too.

Building a mild heads cam car? Go with a cheap forge if money it tight, or $600ish opens up a lot of options.

Big boost or spray... get a good forging.

Cam wise - What tranny? Gears? Again what are your goals with the car in the end. Stock gears and you want it to run tame then something like a cc305 or hotcam. Shameless plug I have a comp 502 that I need to sell. Almost identical to the hotcam.

If you haven't driven a big cam car though ask around and check one out local. I found my gm847 perfectly streetable and have run bigger custom grinds too. Its all preference. Gas mileage was still good too.
Old 10-20-2009, 02:55 PM

jsetzer: