LT1 Based Engine Tech 1993-1997 LT1/LT4 Engine Related

LT1 Virgin needs Help !

Search this Thread

Old 11-06-2015, 08:14 PM

LT1 Virgin needs Help !

Recently i traded a 98 GMC Jimmy for a !994 Z28 Camaro Lt1. My Wife's project car. It ran rough at first. I started learning about the LT1. I replaced the Opti spark ( with the AC Delco OEM ) ,water pump,coil, icm, tps,plugs and plug wires, map sensor, both coolant sensors along with variuos other sensors.

The car ran like a scalded chicken ....... for about a month. It would run great until it got hot, then spit and sputter and sometimes die. Exhaust leak on drivers side , causing O2 sensor to read lean, dumping fuel to the injectors. repaired exhaust leak, new O2 sensor.... Problem solved.
The car ran great again...... until the other day on my way home. It just died in mid stride going down the high way. towed it home. The ignition fuse was blown.... replaced it, the car started right up.

Took it for a very short test drive , got 2 blocks, it acted like it blew the fuse again, had plenty of spares, popped a new one in....... Nothing !
I got it home ... No spark at the coil.

I have tested the Opti spark harness... All good
continuity checked the coil..... All good
Tested the ICM .... B and C checked out OK
But A and D are not getting ANY system voltage !

Does this mean I have a bad PCM or could it be the tranny solenoid, its my understanding that is all that is on the ignition circuit.
Any help would be greatly appreciated ! Thank You !

Last edited by Susie's Z; 11-06-2015 at 08:21 PM.
Old 11-06-2015, 09:01 PM
Prominent Member

Location: Born on the Florida West Coast, now where can I retire?
Re: LT1 Virgin needs Help !

I would inspect the transmission connector for damage or loose wires. Also try to narrow down the search by identifying exactly what happens just before the fuse opens. For example: Is it when the transmission shifts to a certain gear? Does it ever open when the car is not in motion?