LT1 Based Engine Tech 1993-1997 LT1/LT4 Engine Related

Hesitation/idling problems/engine stutter/ and numerous others?

Search this Thread

Old 05-20-2011, 07:30 PM

Hesitation/idling problems/engine stutter/ and numerous others?

Ok I'm a newbie when it comes to cars especially the LT1 and the Camaro so I'm going to try my best to explain what I have done so far the the problems I am dealing with. I have a '94 z28 in which I have recently replaced several coolant hoses which were leaking and yet one which I replaced yesterday is still seeping. It is the bigger line which runs into the top right of the WP of you are standing in front of the vehicle looking at the engine. Not a big deal but could lead to something else which I'll explain later. Getting under the car it was filthy there was an oil leak somewhere that had been let go for so long the whole undercarriage was a mess and dried oil chips peeled of with the size of oreos. After taking a mixture of pinesol and water to slowly scrub and clean underneath i wiped it all down to figure out where the oil leak could be, I'll be back under checking on it soon. Another problem I fixed was replacing the coolant sensor on the WP and the sending unit on the engine, all seems to be fine with that now. After believing the only thing I had left to do was fix the oil problem when found the car began to idle rough and the rpm gauge began to jump rapidly while the car shuttered. When driving it seems to want to die down then suddenly jumps and wants to run on me while the car continuous to stutter and what not. After researching the problem I can only figure it can be the IAC which I haven't looked at yet, a vacuum problem which I have already found and replaced one ripped hose coming off the TB. Other options seem to be something with the ecm or whatever but I wouldn't know how to check that. How would I go about doing further checks for vacuum leaks? Also, there is the EGR system which I'm not sure I can handle on my own e