LT1 Based Engine Tech 1993-1997 LT1/LT4 Engine Related

95z28 fans stay on at cold start and overheating

Search this Thread

Old 03-02-2015, 04:30 PM

95z28 fans stay on at cold start and overheating

Hi , I hope I am posting this in the right place.
I am a newbie who just sold my g35 6mt (bad head gasket ...) and bought a 95z 28 Camaro AT.
I bought it from the original owner. The car is really clean. The car had a huge overhaul done on it when the engine was replaced a year and a half ago. The car has a Jasper Remanufactured engine in it with only about 8k miles on it. The radiator, water pump and hoses, belts ect were also replaced at that time. the chassis and auto tranny has 166k on it.

When I went to go look at the car, as soon as they brought it out from a cold start the fans were on. I questioned this to the mechanic as the car was female owned and she was having the car shown at her mechanics shop by the mechanic himself.He said they were like that for awhile and didn't know what the problem was. My bf (who is an auto tech) and I drove it and played with it trying to get it to either overheat or get the fans to come off and had no luck with either. Transmission also shifted pretty good.

No check engine or any other dash lights on. Other than the fans and worn front brakes, the car seemed as flawless as i could expect for a 20yr old chevy.

I bought it, drove it work fine (20 miles). Then when I was off I drove it home (10 miles) and as soon as i pulled up in front of my house the temp gauge was all the way to the red and after i shut it off a bunch of coolant poured out of the bottom of it.
sigh fml...

Anyway, towed it to my shop and they found the water pump to be leaking and a radiator hose. They also said something about a temp sensor.
My mechanic also said that it felt like the engine was not running on all 8 cylinders. There appears to be an oil leak. not sure if its just from the drain plug or the main seal.