General 1967-2002 F-Body Tech For general F-Body discussion that does not fit in any other forum.
For F-Body Technical/Information Discussion ONLY

Weird Shake after new engine + upgrades

Old 07-01-2010, 08:05 PM

Weird Shake after new engine + upgrades

Hey guys,
I am going to try and be as detailed as I can to help you guys help me!
I am rebuilding my 1994 Pontiac Trans AM, I pulled the original engine out and will be putting money/time in it over the next months (I'm a college student, so both time and money are scarce!). So in the meantime, I opted to purchase a used LT1 engine with low miles and use it temporarily. I was under the impression that it was from a Camaro Z28 with less than 100,000 miles, but after an inspection before putting the engine in my car, it looked as though it was just rebuilt.

So, I was happy and put the engine in my car. But while I had my sub-frame out from under the car, I went ahead and replaced my suspension parts (bushings, ball joints, etc.). I used polyurethane bushings instead of stock rubber for all my suspension as well as engine and trans mounts.

Now my issue: I just drove it for the first time (I got my front end aligned) yesterday. As I drove it, I felt some weird vibrations. I realize since I didn't use rubber mounts/bushings that I would feel a good bit more shaking, but I think it is more than it should be. Especially right around 1,500 RPM (and when I punch it WOT over 2,300 RPM).