General 1967-2002 F-Body Tech For general F-Body discussion that does not fit in any other forum.
For F-Body Technical/Information Discussion ONLY

Rich condition wide band showing 14.5

Search this Thread

Old 08-11-2015, 09:47 AM

Rich condition wide band showing 14.5

Het guys I hav been trying to figure this problem on and off for about 2 years now. I have looked into quite a few issues and never have seemed to come up with fix.

During open loop my wide band runs around 13.0 and seems to sound ok. However when it switches over to closed loop the afr goes to around 14.5 to 15. I have looked into exhaust leaks and sealed up the headers the best I could. I changed the valve cover gaskets, plugs wires ignition. I have seen slight improvements.

I have a datamaster file saved if someone could point me in the right direction that would be great as I would like to have this car etested so i can drive it. i am not sure the best way to post the datamaster file?

Also I can smell a strong gas smell out the exhaust as well as it leaves a black patch on my driveway.
Old 08-11-2015, 12:32 PM
Administrator

Re: Rich condition wide band showing 14.5

The PCM is hard coded to hold the A/F ratio to 14.7:1 in closed loop (which is leaner than 13:1, not richer). That is the stoichiometric (all A/F consumed by combustion) ratio for gasoline. That is the A/F ratio that the catalytic converter is designed to operate at, and provides decent fuel mileage.

You only want something in the range of 12.8 - 13.2:1 in power enrichment (PE) mode (~WOT) to make max torque/HP. That target A/F ratio can be altered by editing the PE tables. While the PCM shows "closed loop enabled" in PE mode, the PCM does not base the fueling on the O2 sensor feedback.