General 1967-2002 F-Body Tech For general F-Body discussion that does not fit in any other forum.
For F-Body Technical/Information Discussion ONLY

Pulling 94 Z28 out of 10 years of storage-Restore Cost?

Search this Thread

Old 07-09-2016, 04:23 PM

Pulling 94 Z28 out of 10 years of storage-Restore Cost?

In the next couple years I plan on having my 94 Z28 restored.
It was my first car which I purchased when I was 16 years old and I have had it stored since 2007 when I graduated college. I was able to store at my Dads company and figured the sentimental value far exceeded the value of selling at the time.

Anyway I finally settled down in a semi permanent location and thinking of moving it to my garages.

First Question is what do I need to do prior to starting it?

Secondly what do you think my cost to restore would be?
The tranny was slipping occasionally about a month before I stored it so Im sure that will be a rebuild.
I would really like to have it restored inside and out just trying to figure my cost. I figured 10K to do it right.
I am basically looking for a car to go get ice cream on a sunday afternoon or just tool around in on occasion.
Please let me know if anything looks way off. Trying to weigh the value of having my first car and whether I should just go buy a low mileage properly stored investment grade 94-97 Z or SS and be done with it.
It is a polo greem 94Z, black leather interior with the A4, has headers, and some small boltons.
I have no interest in trying to make it a race car or even anything fast as todays standards require a lot of work to keep up with say the new SS Camaros or 5.0s.

Tranny rebuild-1200
Tires-800
New leather/carpet-2000
New Paint-3000
Leaves me 3000 for whatever else needs to be replaced engine issues, suspension, etc.

Also considering just buying a crate engine with tranny. I highly doubt this will ever be a collector car to anyone buy me so not to worried about maintaining OEM in that regard.
Old 07-09-2016, 11:57 PM