General 1967-2002 F-Body Tech For general F-Body discussion that does not fit in any other forum.
For F-Body Technical/Information Discussion ONLY

pressure test

Search this Thread

Old 05-09-2015, 04:10 PM

pressure test

did a pressure test on my coolant system it held 18 psi. now i am stilloverheating so i am wondering would an intake leak cause the car to overheat? i do see some old oil around the passenger side upper intake near the alternator side?
Old 05-09-2015, 04:45 PM
Administrator

Re: pressure test

No... oil leaks don't cause overheating, unless the oil gets very low.
Old 05-09-2015, 05:47 PM

Originally Posted by Injuneer
No... oil leaks don't cause overheating, unless the oil gets very low.
i see well do u have any idea what this could be? i am out of suggestions/ways to see whats wrong with it... i have a 180 degree thermo in there,. maybe the previous owner programmed it for 160 degrees thermostat? i dont know i hate guessing.
Old 05-09-2015, 06:23 PM

it has to be my fans not kicking on because when im moving temp is fine but when im at idle/stop and go traffic and redlights it starts to climb higher to the red mark until it gets to the red and says check gages thats how i know it has gotten way to hot and needs to be turned off immediately. i have replaced the fan relays with brand new ones and when i attach dlc the fans do turn on so i am confused.
Old 05-09-2015, 08:11 PM
Administrator

At any point have you data logged it with Scan9495? That will tell you exactly what the PCM is doing when it overheats.
Old 05-09-2015, 08:19 PM

At any point have you data logged it with Scan9495? That will tell you exactly what the PCM is doing when it overheats.
no i did not, so i would have to run the car until it gets to the red point and then plug my scanner in and where should the data logg be?
Old 05-10-2015, 06:22 PM

data logg