General 1967-2002 F-Body Tech For general F-Body discussion that does not fit in any other forum.
For F-Body Technical/Information Discussion ONLY

How hard is it to spin the tires with ls1?

Search this Thread

Old 04-19-2004, 08:54 AM

How hard is it to spin the tires with ls1?

I recently purchased a 2001 z28 m6 with 20k miles. It has great power but does not seem to break the wheels loose except on the 1st to 2nd shift when I am running it hard. I am a little new to driving a manual so it suprised me that I am not squaling the tires more. Is this normal?
Old 04-19-2004, 09:00 AM

lift clutch....PUSH gas to floorboard

done!

actually, since i replaced the old tires with decent ones, it is alot harder to really spin them. unless i drop the clutch in 1st, or really power shift it into 2nd....i don't spin!

i remember the crappy tires i had on my lt1 would occasionally chirp 4th gear on a hard shift. i installed the firestone firehawk SZ50s and i never even chirped 3rd after that...they stick like glue (for a street tire)
Old 04-19-2004, 09:12 AM

My '98 has a traction control button or something. If I try to spin the tires, it puts tension on the gas so I can't hammer it. I can actually feel my foot being pushed off the throttle. I don't normally spin my tires too much. I baby that car...lol.
Old 04-19-2004, 09:38 AM

yeah its not all that hard. It brings back memories of a dealer Z28 that I had for a night. he he we had some fun with that car.

-john
Old 04-19-2004, 09:52 AM

I dont have traction control in my car. The car jumps up and goes but does not break the tires loose. I have even reved it to 2k rpms and slowly let the clutch out as in a normal start. The car just jumps and takes off.
Old 04-19-2004, 10:13 AM

slowly letting the clutch out is probably why...

rev it to 3k and just quickly pull the clutch out...trust me...she'll spin
Old 04-19-2004, 10:35 AM

Your tires will have a lot of influence on how easy it is.