General 1967-2002 F-Body Tech For general F-Body discussion that does not fit in any other forum.
For F-Body Technical/Information Discussion ONLY

Help with power steering pump/belt issue on 00 SS (pics)

Old 05-14-2014, 03:59 PM

Arrow Help with power steering pump/belt issue on 00 SS (pics)

Was driving my parents 00 SS to a job interview and right as I go to turn in, the steering makes an awful squeal and feels as if the p/s went out. I pop the hood to check it out and see belt jumped the pulley, and is partially spinning on the plastic P/S fluid housing, which has frayed the plastic open and is throwing p/s fluid all over.

Im a little perplexed at how this happened, as I'm an amateur mechanic at best. 14 years old but 18,100 miles. It looks like there's a 'bolt' missing in the center of the pulley. I'm able to spin the spindle by hand so it's not locked up.

I'm going to attempt to fix this myself. What im asking - is there anything I should specifically look for/at, is this a common problem or just an isolated issue? It looks like I'm going to need a new pulley and plastic p/s tank at the least.

Thanks for any input.

Name:  jpJxGhf.jpg
Views: 1
Size:  2.83 MB
Name:  qXU7rp5.jpg
Size:  3.04 MB
Name:  kKMGWqk.jpg
Size:  4.14 MB
Old 05-28-2014, 01:13 PM

Re: Help with power steering pump/belt issue on 00 SS (pics)

Any help? thoughts? It looks like the resivour and pulley need to be replaced. Im hoping it CAN be replaced and the pump isn't bad
Old 06-16-2014, 05:25 PM

I have exactly the same problem but cannot find any resolution in any of the threads about power steering pumps. My car is an 02 Z-28 with less than 10K on the clock and when I fired it up this morning, I head a "clunk" so immediately shut it off, popped the hood and found the belt (in one piece, no signs of wear) just laying against the p/s pump. Looks exactly like the picture that's already been posted, p/s fluid everywhere. Pump, and idler spin free. Now what, coaches ?