General 1967-2002 F-Body Tech For general F-Body discussion that does not fit in any other forum.
For F-Body Technical/Information Discussion ONLY

Flowmaster or???

Search this Thread

Old 03-28-2006, 11:22 PM

Question Flowmaster or???

OK i was wondering why it seems like people don't like flowmaster? Does anyone have any dyno information on what a flowmaster cat-back did for say a stock Z28(LT1). It seems like flowmaster is pretty cheap, i think people think they suck because they are cheaper then borla. Well i don't want to start a war... well maybe i do, but i just was wondering. Because when i get a camaro i might get flowmaster because i know i will be able to afford it, and it would be better then nothing. Thanks guys
Old 03-29-2006, 12:04 AM

Re: Flowmaster or???

I got a flowmaster and my overall view is positive. The exhaust sounds really good at idle and WOT. The only complaint I have is the "popping" when I lift, but I hear all exhaust do that to some extent. Like you said, it must be better than the stock exhaust.
Old 03-29-2006, 12:08 AM

I've got a flowmaster 40 series and I love it. I don't know about dynos compared to other aftermarkets, although the gains would be minimal, nothing "in your seat". I have that popping noise when I come down off of high rpms, say in 1st gear. I think it actually sounds pretty badass, combined with the rumble of the exhaust and the roaring of the engine.
Old 03-29-2006, 12:32 AM

I've always loved Flowmaster, but it seems that most people here don't like them. My '96 S10 had a Flowmaster and my '72 C-10 had headers with true-dual Flows and i loved them both. That '72 would set car alarms off, it was pretty bad ***. I've never seen anything to prove they flow poorly, but i'd be interested to see it.

As far as the popping, i love that sound. My Z28 has the stock exhaust and it does it.
Old 03-29-2006, 07:31 AM

"i think people think they suck because they are cheaper then borla"