General 1967-2002 F-Body Tech For general F-Body discussion that does not fit in any other forum.
For F-Body Technical/Information Discussion ONLY

Anything particular i need to worry about?

Search this Thread

Old 03-10-2016, 10:38 PM

Anything particular i need to worry about?

Hey everyone, like the title says....I am getting ready to start my brand new built engine tomorrow and was curious if anyone had any suggestions as to anything important i may have overlooked during my install/build? I have done all of the basics of checking and adding all the necessary fluids, checked all the wiring, checked for any obstructions anywhere in the motor compartment etc....This is my very first build and to be honest i am a little afraid to start it lol. I did re check all of my main and rod cap torques at least 10 times and i think i did everything according to OE specs but i just cant help but be a little concerned since its my first build. Any suggestions or words of encouragement are greatly appreciated.....
Attached Thumbnails Anything particular i need to worry about?-11.jpg   Anything particular i need to worry about?-13.jpg  
Old 03-10-2016, 11:06 PM

Re: Anything particular i need to worry about?

Congrats.I could never attempt this.
I would fill the oil filter full of oil(I do this anyway every oil change)
I would connect the water hoses and fill the radiator.
There are many sights for starting a new engine just google them.
Wishing you good luck here.Hope this helps.
Old 03-10-2016, 11:57 PM

Just curious, is it recommended to remove the ECM fuse to disable the fuel pump and prime the engine first before actually starting it?
Old 03-11-2016, 02:58 PM