General 1967-2002 F-Body Tech For general F-Body discussion that does not fit in any other forum.
For F-Body Technical/Information Discussion ONLY

95 Z/28 Low fuel pressure

Old 07-22-2016, 02:10 AM

95 Z/28 Low fuel pressure

Hello all, my name is Andrew I live in Indiana and I've been browsing this site for a cpl years now. This is my first post. I have a 95 z/28 that has low fuel pressure, believe it was 34 psi last time I checked. She will studder sometimes on acceleration like the engine is being starved for fuel, when I press down the gas pedal more though she powers through it.

I have already replaced the pump with a racetronix walboro unit, and put a new fuel filter on. Also replaced the regulator, it was either an Ac/delco or delphi unit I can't remember. MAF has also been cleaned recently.

I have the datamaster and tunercat programs, and i just installed EEHACK and am installing the free scanner program I found on this site as i type this. I must admit that I am a noob when it comes to reading the results of the datamaster program. I tried to upload a datamaster file I have saved but it says it is an invalid file. It is a .uni type file. Anyone know how to change the type of file so I could upload it?
Old 07-22-2016, 02:56 PM
Administrator

Re: 95 Z/28 Low fuel pressure

When you checked the fuel pressure, did you take the vacuum compensation line off the fuel pressure regulator? If not, pressure in the mid 30's is normal. With the vacuum line off, pressure should be 43.5 PSI, with GM spec accepting a range of 41 - 47 PSI. When you reattach the vacuum line the pressure will drop about 8 PSI with a stock cam, a bit less drop with a more aggressive cam.

The purpose of the vacuum line is to maintain the DIFFERENTIAL pressure between the fuel rail (positive gauge pressure) and the intake manifold (negative gauge pressure) at ~43.5 PSI.
Old 07-22-2016, 03:02 PM
Administrator