General 1967-2002 F-Body Tech For general F-Body discussion that does not fit in any other forum.
For F-Body Technical/Information Discussion ONLY

1993 Formula road race recipe

Search this Thread

Old 10-25-2009, 05:34 PM

1993 Formula road race recipe

Hi, I am a newb here and I'm looking for some overall performance advice. I think that the question I have is general enough that it doesn't fit in any of the more specific discussions.

I have a '93 Formula M6 which is stock except an SLP ram air hood and a Borla cat back system. The car is mostly driven on the street (in the last year, mostly by my son), but 1-3 times a year I take it to one of Michigan's road courses (Grattan, Gingerman or Waterford).

The plan is to keep the current LT1 but to make some prudent mods.

I would like to start on a program of generally upgrading the car to improve track performance without completely losing streetability. My target is 360 hp. I have a list of upgrades that I am considering. I am looking for two things: first, suggestions regarding what I have included or failed to include on my list, and second, specific suggestions as to which components I should select.

Thanks in advance, and here is the list:
  • Heads
  • Cam
  • Intake
  • Headers
  • Subframe connectors
  • Tower brace
  • Shocks and struts
  • Brake rotors
  • Brake pads
  • Shifter (enough crappy 2-3 shifts!)

Like anyone, I don't want to spend money unnecessarily, but my main goal right now is getting a balanced and effective package. I have received some suggestions as to specific components by a few other people, but I haven't made up my mind on anything yet.

Thanks!

Norm Witte
Old 10-25-2009, 06:08 PM
Administrator

Are you looking for 360HP at the flywheel, or at the rear wheels?

What are the class limits on modifications, if any?