Forced Induction Supercharger/Turbocharger

Turbo Upgrade :)

Search this Thread

Old 09-11-2012, 06:30 PM

Turbo Upgrade :)

I now have this sitting on my desk

PT76GTS w/Billet Wheel, 3.5" turbine exit.

I'll be taking out my current TC76 and installing this over the next week. I'll have to update my downpipe because my current DP is only 3". I *think* everything else will bolt up. Looking forward to test driving
Old 09-11-2012, 06:52 PM

Re: Turbo Upgrade :)

I got one of them too! lol
Old 09-11-2012, 07:00 PM

Cool! What is your setup? I've been running the TC76 since 2008 on my daily driver but a recent thread (VERY interesting) on turbine sizes made me realize I've been leaving some HP on the table. I'm also busy trying to decipher Dookies Speed Density thread. Sounds like a more resposive, if more troublesome to setup, solution.
Old 09-12-2012, 12:33 PM

Dave, why 3.5"?
Old 09-12-2012, 12:54 PM

Hi Jon, I'd been reading/hearing that the 3" downpipes start being a hindrance after 600 rwhp. I have a 3.5" V-band and 3.5 to 3.0 reducer so I can still mate up from the Turbo to your downpipe. I ordered them last week. I'll weld it up. For the track, I plan to have a 3.5" dump pipe exiting past the passenger front tire.

Originally Posted by RealQuick
Dave, why 3.5"?
Old 09-12-2012, 10:14 PM

it'll be interesting to see your results, you got the exact turbo they recommend in that thread. curious to hear how your transient response is with this one and how much more power it makes!
Old 09-13-2012, 05:25 AM

I'll be sure to post it up.