Forced Induction Supercharger/Turbocharger

Need Cooling Help

Old 07-01-2015, 08:27 AM

Need Cooling Help

I'm new to using forums and posted this in the wrong spot before. I have a built turbo LT1 in a 94 Z-28 that I bought off a good friend. My car while just cruising around is getting way too hot.

From what I was told and can see the car has the stock radiator, high flow WP(cam driven), a 60/40 mix of PG/Water with water wetter, and wrap on the turbo and headers. Also has dual spal 10" pusher fans set to come on at 160.
The parts in italics is what I was told is done

Cruising on the highway I am hitting 220-225 and in the city I have hit 245. This is about 20 minutes of driving without even pushing boost.

I need help figuring out what to check/replace to get the temps down that I can easily do in my garage.
Old 07-01-2015, 02:07 PM

Re: Need Cooling Help

Something cheap and preventative anyways would be a flush of the system. If the water jackets in the block are not clean, the heat transfer between the block and the coolant will not happen efficiently. Radiator may have some blockage as well. That is where I would personally start.

Re-read your post to make sure I was not missing anything. You didn't mention the thermostat. As easy as the thermostat is to change on this vehicle, I'd replace it just for good assurance.

Last edited by DelSoto; 07-01-2015 at 02:11 PM.
Old 07-01-2015, 02:16 PM

One more thought. Crack the 2 bleed screws just to make sure you don't have an air pocket in the cooling system.

Here are the 2 screws courtesy of Shoebox's site: http://shbox.com/1/bleeders.jpg

Last edited by DelSoto; 07-01-2015 at 02:18 PM.
Old 07-01-2015, 03:28 PM
Administrator

I've provided some info in this thread.

https://www.camaroz28.com/forums/gen...diator-882707/

Detailed info in vehicle build:

https://www.camaroz28.com/forums/new...-turbo-882708/
Old 07-02-2015, 10:05 AM