Computer Diagnostics and Tuning Technical discussion on diagnostics and programming of the F-body computers

Oxidized connector fun...

Old 06-17-2014, 11:11 AM

Oxidized connector fun...

Usually, my weekly commutes to Rochester from Albany and back are uneventful. However, this past Sunday night on the way to Rochester was different. As I neared the halfway point (Utica) the car was cruising at 75mph just fine, then it stumbled and went dead for about a full second, then came back since its a manual transmission and I never pushed in the clutch. I thought, "Okay.. what the hell was that?"... I studied the gauges and everything looked normal. I kept going. Then about 15 minutes later it did it again but 2 times in succession before renewing the journey. Now I was getting concerned. Sure enough, the close I got to Albany, the more frequent and the longer it would take a break before restarting. I was trying to figure out if it was fuel related or spark but the next event made me pretty sure it was spark. Lol... So I'm suffering thru this behavior of dying then coming back but still going 75 mph most of the time. As I went past this car that was going like 74, after I passed them by a safe distance, I moved over to their lane. At this point, my engine did the 'live, die, repeat' progression but added a massive backfire. I looked in the rearview mirror to see that poor car I'd just passed emerging from the cloud of soot my engine just expelled in the backfire. I felt bad but at the same time laughed. They put on their brakes and stayed about 1/4 of a mile behind me after that.