Computer Diagnostics and Tuning Technical discussion on diagnostics and programming of the F-body computers

New to forum, looking for tuning answers.

Search this Thread

Old 06-01-2014, 02:14 PM

Thumbs up New to forum, looking for tuning answers.

Hello all,

First let me introduce myself and my situation. I live in sunny Gainesville, FL and work full time as a master ASE certified mechanic. I have a passion for cars but due to the fast n furious phase I went through, have only previously built ricers. Fast, but unreliable. True money pits. Finally I found the 4 eyed fourth gen of my dreams. Black with cream interior, only 70k miles, and a steal at 2000 dollars when all it needed was a fuel pump. So I have a little money left over to throw at it, but while being a master a 'factory styled' mechanic work, I have NO experience with aftermarket tuning, so it is my hope someone somewhere can give me the 'lowdown'. Here is what I have done so far, or will do within the next month, prior to needing a tune. It is my 2nd car.

1. Generic cold air intake with K+N filter
2. Full tune up with the recommended TR55 plugs. (copper) + new opti
3. Magnaflow rear exhaust (mainly done as the exhaust section was missing)
4. Upgraded what I believe were 2.73 gears to 3.73
5. Pacesetter knock off Ebay headers with NO AIR or EGR fittings
6. Possibly an aftermarket cam? But I'm not sold on the value of this considering the massive amount of work involved. (Ive never done a cam on an OHV engine)

Being a mechanic I hate driving my vehicles with the MIL on, and I know that these upgrades will leave me with plenty of codes, not to mention an incorrect speedometer. These will be the only upgrades I do, it is after all an LT1 and I don't want to throw good money after bad, I'll buy a LS7 Corvette when I'm ready to do that....