Computer Diagnostics and Tuning Technical discussion on diagnostics and programming of the F-body computers

Maybe An Easy Question Regarding Fuel Injector Size Changes?

Search this Thread

Old 03-18-2012, 05:27 PM

Question Maybe An Easy Question Regarding Fuel Injector Size Changes?

Okay, first off I'm a real newbie to all this computer tuning stuff, but, I may(???) have a real easy question for you guys who DO know tuning.

I have the '97 Z with the mods shown in my signiture, and it's running fine on my current mail order tune. Over the Winter I picked up a set of Ford SVO 42 lb (green top) fuel injectors, to replace the Ford SVO 30 lb (red top) fuel injectors I'm currently running on my car.

I do have access to both Tunercat and all the ALDL cables, etc. I know I need to re-program my PCM, but, my question is ........ what all needs to be done if I just want to "upgrade/tweak" my current tune to reflect the addition of the 42 lb/hr injectors, in replacing my current 30 lb/hr injectors?

Is it an easy thing to do to re-program/re-tune for just an injector size change if you already do have a good tune for your car running the smaller injectors? Any "step by step" tutorials that a real tuning newbie could use to make this change?

TIA for any replys!

Last edited by 97 6SPEED Z; 03-18-2012 at 05:31 PM.
Old 03-26-2012, 09:24 AM

Unhappy Re: Maybe An Easy Question Regarding Fuel Injector Size Changes?

Okay, its been over a week and ....... not a single reply.

I guess "tweaking" an otherwise "good" tune for just an injector size change is NOT so easy, eh?
Old 03-26-2012, 09:57 AM

Re: Maybe An Easy Question Regarding Fuel Injector Size Changes?

This board is dead...at least this section of it is. Try posting in the main LT1 section, and note that you posted in this section but didn't get any traffic.

Try other message boards, too. LS1tech surprisingly has a good LT1 contingent.
Old 03-26-2012, 09:58 AM

LT1 PCM Tuning - Tips & Tricks for DIY Tuning!