Computer Diagnostics and Tuning Technical discussion on diagnostics and programming of the F-body computers

IAC/TPS questions

Search this Thread

Old 02-26-2017, 08:02 PM

IAC/TPS questions

Hey guys haven't posted since 2010 and decided to come back to ask a few questions. I started playing with my car again and recently did the intake because of an oil leak in the rear. Long story short after a few years I started the car up this weekend and checked some reading from my scanmaster. Car seemed to idle fine 825-850(M6) warmed up, coolant at 182 and tps .50 and IAC 67/68. Pulling 14 hg on vacuum. MAP 13.4-13.9, MAF 08/09. Again car seemed good but doing some internet searching it seemed my IAC values were high. I have a ASM 52mm ported TB with airfoil and custom cam(224-236, 115)?. Don't remember the specs but some info is in my SIG. Not sure what's in it because it has been so long. It does have a mail order tune from years ago and ran decent, also passed emissions. Wideband says 14.7/8 at idle. Any info would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance....

Last edited by BMAN'S SCZ; 02-26-2017 at 08:13 PM.
Old 02-26-2017, 08:59 PM
Prominent Member

Location: Born on the Florida West Coast, now where can I retire?
Re: IAC/TPS questions

I don't think there is anything wrong with an IAC value of 68 while idling. I have seen many scan logs with approximately that reading. The range is 0 to 160 so you are about in the middle.
Old 02-26-2017, 10:46 PM
Administrator

My scanner writeup suggests a range of 20-40 counts at idle. But that's for a stock(ish), normally aspirated engine. Once you get into a forced induction, heads/cam, custom tune, etc., I don't think there is a "normal" count. Use Scan9495 to log the PCM under a wide variety of operating conditions. Look for any situation that is causing the counts to max out at 160. Even that may not be a problem.