General 1967-2002 F-Body Tech For general F-Body discussion that does not fit in any other forum.
For F-Body Technical/Information Discussion ONLY

Camaro 96. lt1

Old 05-02-2015, 07:49 PM

Camaro 96. lt1

Im new at this but lets try. I bought a z28 96' 5.7 3 days ago. Im having little problems. I full the gas in the car and drove it for about 15 miles and it was a quarter from empty. The car inside smells like gas. went I get out the car I hear a high pitch coming out of the gas tank. The temperature in the car is insane such as the oower lol. The oil pressure drops and jump up like crazy. I talk with the family mecanic and he told me that maybe the O2 sensor is not working well. Like I was saying let me know secrets that this car haves. What problem this car haves? The car is spending gas as hell is this normal please let me know thanks!!!!
Old 05-02-2015, 10:02 PM
Administrator

Re: Camaro 96. lt1

Fill it up again. Maybe the gas gauge is faulty. If you used more than 1 gallon to drive 15 miles, and that 15 miles didn't consist of 60 1/4-mile passes, you have a problem. 1/4 tank left, with the known screwy calibration of the stock gauge would indicate you used 12 gallons driving 15 miles. How could you possibly think that might be normal? There would be liquid fuel pouring out of your exhaust.

Hard to understand how you didn't notice all these problems BEFORE you bought it.
Old 05-03-2015, 05:12 AM

it actually smells like fuel went Im driving the car. What can I do to fix that?
Old 05-03-2015, 06:11 AM

should I run Premium fuel or normal ? Thanks
Old 05-03-2015, 07:59 AM
Administrator

To make full power, the engine needs premium. You can run regular grade, but you will experience a small loss of power.